I’m Having an Affair…

… with coffee!  Oh coffee, how I love you so, you never seem to let me down.  Those who know me might remember a time when I never drank the stuff.  I have always loved the smell of coffee brewing, but never cared for the taste.  It has been a gradual process from yuck, I can’t believe people drink this stuff, to:  Oh Starbucks, yum, I’ll have a sugar laden Mocha frappucino with some sugar sprinkles, and oh yeah with an extra pump of sugar!, to:  Ok Starbucks, I’ll try your regular coffee.  Ok, pretty bitter, me no likey.  I think I’ll stick with the sweet stuff.  Give me a Caramel Macchiato please with extra whipped cream and some extra caramel, oh and a side of diabetes please. Thanks!  Then another progression to: Ok, I think I get this coffee thing now, ok barista, I’ll order a tall, iced Caramel Macchiato, upside down, with an extra pump of vanilla, yeah baby!  (I’m getting better, I kinda laid off some of the extra sugar right?)  To the present:  Ok Starbucks, I am tired of wasting all this money on you when I am capable of brewing my own coffee in the comfort of my own home.  As long as I have a bucket size of coffee grounds, a gallon of half/half, and some splenda, I am set!  I never need to see you again!  I am talking to Starbucks, not the coffee itself, because my love affair is not with Starbucks though you could have interpreted it as so, but my affair is still with coffee and I do not intend in ending it, ever!  My husband will just have to understand that coffee will always be the other man in my life, please do not make me choose.  I would hate to split up the family, sad I know. 

I have listed below my 5 favorites in case you were wondering which ones are worth “cheating” on your partner with.

1.  Jose’s Vanilla Nut (at Costco) – delicious and sinful at the same time

2.  Don Francisco’s Hawaiian Hazelnut – reminds of the time I spent in Hawaii, or wait was that L & L ?

3.  Don Francisco’s 100% Columbian Supremo

4. Don Francisco’s Vanilla Nut

5. Yuban’s Dark Roast 

As a mom, coffee has become a life saver.  It helps pull me through the days when all I want to do is shut my eyes and sleep till noon like my pre-kid days.  So since those days are far behind me and I will probably never be able to sleep that long again, I have to rely on Mr. Coffee to get me up in the morning.  On the days that I don’t feel tired and do not need that caffeine jolt, oh wait, I don’t think that has EVER happened, so nevermind…

Well, what are your favorite coffees?  Please share so I can try them!  I always like to spice things up!

Follow my blog and follow me on twitter!  My twitter handler is @lifeintoylane. 

 

4 Comments

  1. ThatHalfChick said,

    November 12, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I do remember when you use to say you loved the smell but not the taste. I never understood that. I figured you weren’t adding enough sugar or cream. I guess you’ve made up for all the years you missed out! I don’t have any special ways to enjoy coffee, but I have become a fan of Rocket Brothers. Starbucks can’t compare to Rocket Brothers in my opinion. The problem with Starbucks around here is their inconsistency. I’ve been disappointed too many times. Rocket Brothers is consistent, delicious, cheaper and available in 32 oz sizes. I don’t think there are any where you live, right? I’m craving some right now!

    • November 13, 2011 at 7:11 am

      Looks like Rocket Bros is a local thing, I’ll have to try it the next time I am out there. I so want to try it though!

  2. rachel said,

    November 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I totally agree with you I have the same love affair. I do prefer my coffee at home especially when its cold outside. In the summer I want my iced lattes. Lees sandwiches has THE BEST ICED COFFEE! And less calories then Starbucks!


Leave a Reply

